How the Recipient is Selected

Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation

Sir Ernest MacMillan Memorial Foundation Award

The Award For 2018

How To Apply For
The Award

How The Recipient
Is Selected

Our Most Recent Recipient

Other Recipients Of The Award

Trustees & Officers

Donors & Patrons

How To Donate

Walter Prystawski
Regula Qureshi
Leonard Ratzlaff
John Rea
Alan Reesor
Eugene Rittich
John Rudolph
Timothy Shantz
Linda Smith
Simon Streatfeild
Kathleen Solose
Alain Trudel
Andrew Tunis
Nancy Vogan
Kellie Walsh
Jon Washburn
John Wiebe
William Wright
John Wyre
Michael Zaugg
Andrew Zinck

Otto Joachim
Jeff Joudrey

Helmut Kallmann
Talivaldis Kenins
Jacobus Kloppers
Stuart Laughton
Rachel Laurin
Mireille Legacé
Gilles Lefèbvre
Stephane Lemelin
Jean Lesage
Michael Massey
Washington McClain
R. Dale McIntosh
Michael McMahon
Victoria Meredith

Christopher Millard
Tania Miller
Ann Monoynias
Paul Murray
Doreen Oke
Geoffrey Payzant
Kip Pegley
Pierre-Vincent Plante
André Prévost
George Proctor

Lydia Adams
Robert Aitken
Bob Becker
Allan Bell
Juliette Bourassa-Trépanier
Janet Brenneman
David Briskin
John Burge
Barrie Cabena
Guy Carmichael
Lawrence Cherney
Mary Cyr
Gail Dixon
Douglas Dunsmore
Iwan Edwards
Ann Elliott-Goldschmid
Victor Feldbrill
Cynthia Floyd
Guy Fouquet
Edith Fowke
John Greer
Frank Harmantas
Ruth Watson Henderson
Mary Ingraham

The winner is chosen by an independent panel of jurors that is selected by the trustees. The jurors, usually three in number, are recognized specialists in the area of music under consideration and are chosen to reflect Canada's geographic and cultural diversity. The jurors determine the winner (or winners) of the award without further input from the Trustees. The jury may withhold its recommendation if it considers no applicant is of sufficiently high artistic standard.

The Foundation’s prize in choral conducting in 2018 was determined by Choral Canada’s process for selecting the successful applicant for its Conducting Apprenticeship Program and, as such, represents a change from past practice. Please see:

List of MacMillan Memorial Foundation Award Jurors (since 1985)